This is just a piece of me (originally posted 14 January 2012)

Standard

Have you ever surfed through blogs just to see what people are writing about? Some share their talents; recipes, crafts, skills. Some share their thoughts, political ideas or rants about the topic of the day. Yet others simply talk about interests such as sewing, hiking or the latest fashions. Each one of these are a different facet to the individual writer. That’s not all there is to know about the writer, merely what they have chosen to share with the rest of the world. My husband, for instance, has more to him than his love for photography and his Harley Davidson but I’m fairly certain that if he were to write a blog those two topics would create precedence over other subjects that he is interested in.  The point is that when we look at another person, we only see part of who they are. Even those we are closest to. We are only allowed to peer through a window that others allow to be open. We never know the extent of their deepest thoughts. We don’t know all there is to know.

However, we can rest assured that when we come to Christ, He knows our WHOLE story. He knows everything there is to know about each of us. All of our faults, flaws, fabrications and fallible actions come with us when we’re facing the one who created us. As I begin my journey to face my WHOLE story, I realize that it will open up a lot of wounds, a lot of secrets and force me to visit places in my life that I had vowed never to return to; not just physically but emotionally as well. I have made the decision to press on because, through Christ, I understand that when we need to be ‘fixed,’ He doesn’t settle for a part of us. He wants the package deal. He wants us to be WHOLE in Him and I don’t believe that He gives up on us until we reach that point. It’s for that reason that our trials are ongoing. Our challenges don’t stop, our journey never ends. What good are we if we reach a certain potential then max out? As if to say that’s it. I can do no better, I can go no further. This is as good as it gets. As Christians, our growth doesn’t end like that. Christ doesn’t settle for healing one part of us but leave the rest hurting. He won’t fix my legs so that I can continue my walk with a broken heart. The problem though, is that we hold on to the things that we aren’t ready to let go of or the things that we aren’t ready to truly fix because we know, in turning them over to Him, that it means we have to face them and sometimes that’s painfully hard to do.

As I will begin to share my challenges with you, my readers, it’s important for you to know that my life is no better or worse than anyone else with a testimony and there is no one aspect of my life that led me to Christ. We ALL have our individual adversities that we’ve conquered. Some may be on the anvil now. I will share my stories because, I think, in order to understand the power of God one must also understand the depths that God often reaches into to save some of us. In the end,  ”according to my earnest expectation and my hope, that in nothing I shall be ashamed, but that with all boldness, as always, so now also Christ shall be magnified in my body, whether it be by life, or by death.” Philippians 1:20 While my sins and my trials are often nothing to be proud of they are what God uses as tools to teach me and I choose to be bold in saying ‘yes, I have messed up but let Him be glorified who has brought me through.’ I am no longer ashamed of my past because I know that my past is NOT my WHOLE story and without my past I would not be who I am today. Although I am far from perfect, I am learning to be okay with who I am knowing that in some small way I am part of His big plan.  I seek to be whole in Christ Jesus. He wants YOU to be whole too and when you’re ready to turn over all the broken pieces to Him, He’s standing by with the tools to put it all back together for you.

Leave a Reply

